Degree Programmes in CL/NLP

European Masters Program

European Masters Program in Language and Communication Technologies (LCT)

A consortium of 7 European universities (Saarland University, University of Trento, Charles University, University of Malta, University of Lorraine, University of Groningen, University of the Basque Country) and two non-European universities as associated partners (University of Melbourne, Shanghai Jiao Tong University) offer an integrated European Masters Program in Language and Communication Technologies (LCT).

The joint curriculum follows the Bologna model for higher education in Europe and comprises 120 ECTS credits, 30 of which make up the Masters dissertation, and 90 of which are coursework credits made up of compulsory modules in Computer Science (at least 24 ECTS) and Language Technology (at least 24 ECTS), and advanced modules in these and related areas. The exact implementation of modules at the individual universities allows for limited variation exploiting the special strengths of each institution.

Coursework is distributed over three semesters, while the dissertation is completed in the fourth semester.

Students attend the two-year program at two European universities chosen from the consortium, typically spending one year at each. They can optionally complete a stay at one of the non-European partners. Graduates of the course obtain two Masters degrees from each of the two institutions attended and an LCT diploma supplement.

The program is sponsored within the European Erasmus-Mundus program. The deadline for scholarship applications is usually at the beginning of January. An additional deadline for applications on self-funding bases is usually at the beginning of May.

For further details, please consult the LCT Program Homepage:

Ivana Kruijff-Korbayova
Dept. of Computational Linguistics,
Saarland University,